Day 24 – Back to my Roots

Standard

Today I was inspired by a clip of Bijayini Satpathy and Surupa Sen a.k.a. the astounding Nrityagram. What moved me was the nritta, the ‘abstract’ dance, which nevertheless felt so vibrant and meaningful as I watched it. Also, and I don’t know what this says about me, but I felt oddly comforted seeing them dance in what looks like a hallway. My thought was something like “substantial and beautiful dancing can happen off-stage too.”

So today I had a “back to my roots” feeling as I too simply did nritta, pure dance movements. Mostly in this dance challenge, I’ve tried to be creative and have stayed away from straight-up ‘traditional’ movement. But this felt very grounding:

 

PS: the guest-artist today is Chunni, our family dog.

 

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Day 24-Isadora Style « mamadances

Leave a Reply

