Day 1 – Stillness and Movement Challenge

Standard

After a few days of thought, I decided that I want to keep going with this challenge business. For one, it gives me the motivation to move on a daily basis, which otherwise I simply don’t do. And when I was done with the first 30 days, I felt like I was saying goodbye to a good friend. Often doing the challenge shifted my perspective of myself and my day. It also brought up some of my assumptions about dance. Even the basic one, what is dance? What makes something dance and another thing something else?

My goal is actually to continue 108 days, but the challenge I have taken on for the next 30 days is a balance of ‘Stillness and Movement.’ Everyday I will be in stillness through meditation or quiet time and journal about my thoughts. And then my idea is to be in movement, perhaps embodying my thoughts in fun/thoughtful ways 🙂

Today I had no specific thought in mind, only the desire to let the journey begin again:

One response »

  1. I like this idea. I am inspired to create a challenge for myself now… I find that it is interesting to have stillness and meditation after movement, which stirs things up a bit, I find. Maybe experiment alternating moving/sitting, sitting/moving and see what happens. : )

Leave a Reply

