A Moment of Transformation

Standard

Before:
Heavy-hearted. Mental. Absorbed in my thoughts. The sun is shining but not on me. I walk under a tree. I wish I could stay here. I can’t be flaky, bail out, just because of my mood, my mind. But what do I have right now to give? My sadness, these questions, a heaviness?
It’s not about me.

Dancing:
This moment in time is bigger than me and my personal woes. I feel hopeful. I trust this. My darkness is far away. The poetry flows through me. My energy is united with all of you. Together we are relishing the depth of something I myself don’t yet understand. But I feel it. I think you do too.

After:
Free. Light-hearted. Thought-less. A new me. What was that thing that disturbed me so? Well, don’t knock on that door. It’s closed now. I don’t even know where the path to that pain is right now. Touched by the sweet poetry of Govinda Das. Kamala dala jala – jivana tala mala. Life is like a restless drop of water on the leaf of lotus. Vish’s voice and words. The uplifting mood of the drum, flute, kartals, voices, dance. And best of all, it’s not about me. I’m free. The sun is shining. On me. On everybody.

Omega Institute, Upstate New York
Ecstatic Chant Weekend

Leave a Reply

